MARTIN LUTHER KING REMEMBRANCE PROGRAM A day of programming to commemorate the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

MLK Remembrance Program

Monday, January 18, 2021

1:00 PM - 9:30 PM US Eastern
12:00 PM - 8:30 PM US Central
11:00 AM - 7:30 PM US Mountain
10:00 AM - 6:30 PM US Pacific
6:00 PM - 2:30 AM UTC

Martin Luther King Remembrance Celebration 

A day of virtual programming to commemorate the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. beginning at noon through 8:30 p.m. on Monday, January 18. 

Programming includes readings from several of King’s works, live panels and discussions on a variety of historical and present day issues and topics, as well as multimedia and art presentations from the Black Lives Matter: Silence equals violence exhibit. Converge Radio Presents We’re Still Dreaming beginning at 7 p.m. will pay tribute to the legacy of Martin Luther King Jr. with musical performances with readings of Dr. King’s “I Have a Dream” speech interspersed. 

About this Event

Beginning at 12 p.m., join us for a collection of readings, artwork, educational sessions, trainings, music, discussions, and more. Local experts share their knowledge of topics ranging from “How does the history of the Ku Klux Klan in the Chippewa Valley affect us today?” and “Race, Civility, and the First Amendment” to panels discussing Race & Religion and the ABCs of Racism.

Hear from community leaders who share their thoughts on building trust, unity, and repairing relationships all in the spirit of Dr. King’s message. Find out more about the Transformation Project- a regional anti-racist initiative that seeks to create an inclusive and affirming community for all people.

At 7 p.m., Converge Radio will present a musical tribute to the legacy of Martin Luther King Jr. featuring music and spoken word pieces from local artists including Irie Sol, Naalia, David Billingsley, TeaWhYB, Jerrika Mighelle, The Nunnery, Them Coulee Boys, Justin Jay Arnold and Dylan Martinson. Readings of Dr. King's "I Have a Dream" speech will be interspersed.

 

SCHEDULE OF EVENTS

Interspersed throughout the day will be short discussions on the continued relevance of Martin Luther King Jr., musical presentations, and features of the artwork and artists of the Black Lives Matter: Silence equals violence.

  • 12:00 - Welcome and Reading of the “Letter from Birmingham Jail”
  • 12:15 - Live Panel - How does the History of the Klan in the Chippewa Valley affect us today?
  • 1:00 - Discussion - Antisemitism & Racism
  • 1:35 - Transformation Project
  • 2:00 - Live Panel - Race and Religion
  • 3:45 - Discussion - Race, Civility, and the First Amendment
  • 5:00 - Conversation in Color Discussion - ABCs of Racism
  • 6:05 - Presentation -  Fighting Disinformation
  • 7:00 - Converge Radio Presents - Musical and Spoken Word Performances

 

EVENT SPONSORS

This year’s Chippewa Valley Martin Luther King Remembrance Celebration is a collaboration between Uniting Bridges, Pablo Center at the Confluence, Converge Radio, the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire, the University of Wisconsin-Stout, the City of Eau Claire, and the City of Altoona.

speaker
Ed Hudgins
speaker
Selika Ducksworth-Lawton
speaker
John Kinville
speaker
Mitchel Orlovsky
speaker
Amy Renshaw
speaker
Julianne Lepp
speaker
Teresa O'Halloran
speaker
Le'Trice Donaldson
speaker
Eric Kasper
speaker
Timothy Shiell
speaker
Frank Watkins
speaker
Dang Yang
speaker
Lopamudra Basu
speaker
AG Josh Kaul
speaker
Lynette McNeely
speaker
Sahar Taman
speaker
Ghada Ghazal
speaker
Rod Jones